Public Displays of Affection (PDA)

Over the last little while, I’ve noticed a lot of people post a lot of things about relationships, about their significant others in my social networks. There are others that are generally just be lovey dovey and cutesy with their partners in public, holding hands, kissing, making out etc. Now, I want everyone to understand that I am not a cynic about love and romance as this post may make me seem as such. What I will say is that while it’s fine to be in love, a majority of people don’t care to see obsessive public displays of affection or PDA.

There are two main things that I want to gripe about right now, the first being the physical exhibitions of PDA. I understand that couples are in love wish to share their love in a physical way however, much like most things in life, there is a time and a place for everything. I am okay with a simple kiss, some hand holding or hugs, but anything beyond that is obsessive for me. What I’m talking about is those couples who are adorably in love and want to make sure that you and everyone around you know that they’re in love. They’re the ones that have no shame making out in front of people, or who are so hot for each other that everyone else around them just becomes a nuisance to their expressions of love. The reason why these people bother me so much is not because they’re in love as I am pro love, They bother me because it almost becomes inconsiderate how much or how far they’ll go to express their love for each other. Lots of individuals who are single don’t need to be reminded of their singleness by seeing these people. I think the key here is moderation. For example, water gun fights are fun for everyone involved. You bring your little super soaker, and you shoot each other and everyone has a jolly good time. How I equate excessive PDA in this scenario is people who choose to ignore the unspoken guidelines of bringing a water gun to this fight, and decide to go all out bringing a firetruck hooked up to the street  hydrant to blow anyone out of the water.  Ok that’s a weak example but that’s how I see excessive PDA on a physical level.

The second excessive use of PDA is the social media love explosions. The posts that appear to be seemingly cute and adorable are actually bombs of disappointment waiting to happen. These couples set unrealistic expectations of the concept of love. You know the ones I’m talking about, the posts that show their undying love for one another, and often equate their love to some fictitious story like Romeo and Juliet (which, in my opinion isn’t very romantic). Don’t get me wrong here either, I’m not saying people shouldn’t express their love for each other through social media, I think there are appropriate times to do so, but the ones I’m talking about are people who post on the daily how much they are in love. How they can’t live without each other, or how they just want the world to feel how grossly into each other they are.

Maybe I am a bit of a cynic when it comes to matters of the heart, or maybe I’m just tired of all these people being too far in their efforts. Moderation is all I’m asking for. If you think you’re one of these people just tone it back a bit. You can be that much in love with another person but just keep it to yourself. The rest of the world doesn’t need a humble brag about how much you love each other. But that’s just my opinion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

