Weak things made strong

I’ve been thinking about this phrase, specifically from a religious perspective. As a person with relatively strong religious affiliation and beliefs, God has promised that as we exercise a belief in Him, our weaknesses will be made turned to strengths.

The scripture in question here is found in the Book of Ether, in the Book of Mormon, chapter 12 verses 27 and 28.

 27 And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.

 28 Behold, I will show unto the Gentiles their weakness, and I will show unto them that faith, hope and charity bringeth unto me—the fountain of all righteousness.

Now, it may seem obvious to most but not really to me why our weak things will be made strong. Is it because God will strengthen our weaknesses because He wants us to become stronger and more able to fulfill His will? Does He want us to work on our weaknesses and thereby being able to have our weak things become strong? There is also a preclusion that if are to be made strong, we must also be humble enough to have the desire to go to God for to strengthen us. Being humble enough to seek after God to strengthen our weaknesses shows our faith and devotion to Him.

It’s hard to comprehend how we can turn our weaknesses into strengths, because we are unable to understand a lot of how God works and his many mysteries. One thing that I am sure of is that our purpose is to learn and grow in this life. We will experience hardships and find things we might not be able to do at first. Like I’ve said before many things do require work and effort, to practice and to get better at. I think that’s precisely what God wants for us, to work, improve different aspects of our live. However He wants us to always remember where our abilities, strengths and talents come from.

I think this is why I need to finish a blog in a single sitting, because I lost my train of thought from yesterday when I was blogging. Good job brain, good job! Well I guess it something does come back up I’ll amend this blog but for now, I guess that’s the end of that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

